General Information about Syria



H.E. Bashar al-Assad
President of the Syrian Arab Republic


Official Name: Syrian Arab Republic
Capital: Damascus. Damascus
Area/K.m2: 185.180
Population/millions: 21,660,309       (2006)
Official Language: Arabic
Other Languages: English & French
Electricity/V-Hz: 220-50
Weights & Measures:  metric units
Local Currency: Lira = 100 Piasters
Bank Notes Currency / S.P:  5,10,25,50,100,200,500,1000
Coin Currency / S.P: 1,2,5,10,25
Official Working hours: 8:00 - 16:00
Official Weekly Holiday:  Friday & Saturday.
Private Establishments Working hours: 10-14 , 16-20
Local Times: GMT + 2 hours in Winter & + 3 hours in Summer

Syria is located east of the Mediterranean with a coast of /184/ km long. It forms a connecting point among the continents of Asia, Europe and Africa. Trade flourished in Syria since old times and tens of civilizations were born or originated on its land.

Administrative Divisions:
Syria is divided into 14 governorates: Damascus, Damascus DC. - Homs - Hama - Aleppo - Idleb - Lattakia - Tartous - Quneitra - Daraa - Sweida - Deir Ezzor - al Raqqa and al Hasaka. Each governorate is divided into districts. All in all, there are 60 districts and 84 cities in Syria.

Syria has a moderate Mediterranean climate with clear distinguished four seasons:
Winter (December, January and February)
Spring (March April and May)
Summer (June, July and August)
the fall ( September, October and November)


Contact us